Technical Design

Design
The new grinding machine from Haas needed to be small, compact, and space saving. And that is exactly how it turned out. For the Multigrind® CU, we decided to go with the classic Gantry design with central drive. In order to gain space, we modified the axis configuration usual for Gantry machines. The X, Y, and Z axes were moved up. The C-axis moved from above to below where it also moves the A-axis, which is used to swivel the machine table, and as such, the workpiece. The C-axis also moves the tool magazine located below the machine table, which is simply lifted up for loading.

The design with a fixed spindle results in 50 percent less rotary motion, and as a result, a considerable increase in stability and precision. This means we were able to increase travel when in rapid motion to 30 m/min, with disruptive Coriolis forces eliminated thanks to the fixed spindle.

The entire machine is built so that the user only needs to access the front or the back. Loading and unloading as well as loading the tool changer is carried out at the front side; maintenance is carried out exclusively from the back side. The sides on the left and right are completely closed, which means that several machines can be lined up next to each other in one production line.

Machining Options
In the CU you can grind machining tools and other workpieces up to a length of 300 mm and 180 mm in diameter to the nearest micron.

Grinding Spindles
We equip the CU standard with a Haas HSK 50 E grinding spindle with 8,000 revolutions per minute and 12 kW. We can also equip the machine with an 18,000 rpm spindle, if so desired. In addition, we can also provide high-speed spindles upon request. All Haas spindles are developed and manufactured in Trossingen. The rotating parts are finely balanced and many use hybrid bearings.

Machine Table
With a clamping surface measuring 800 × 290 mm, the Multigrind® CU’s rotating machine table offers lots of space. The workpiece holder on the A-axis and the machine table move the tool around, but always in one place. As such, the axes only need to be minimally repositioned, making them considerably more accurate.

Tool Changer
Anyone who places considerable value on flexibility – such as the manufacturers of precision tools – needs a generously sized, rapid tool changer. Despite only being 1,600 mm wide, the CU is equipped with a tool magazine with up to 14 spaces. This is enough space to load the changer with nine grinding wheels measuring 200 mm each. The user loads the changer from above at the front of the grinding machine. Just like the entire machine, the changer is programmed and precision-controlled using our Multigrind® Horizon grinding software. And since we wanted to build a truly compact machine, we used a special technical trick and positioned the changeover wheel under the machine table.

Automation
Today cost-effective automation is one of the main requests from tool manufacturers. In this regard, we equipped the CU with an integrated automation unit. This unit is comprised of four pallets (259 × 200 mm) which can be quickly loaded and unloaded with a pivot drive and a gripper arm. Thanks to the five NC axes and the two “half” axes, the CU has levels of freedom that come close to that of a robot. To make things even better, the CU’s automation unit requires neither additional space nor an extra budget.

Maintenance and Supply
The CU can be easily accessed from behind to supply, maintain, and examine all supply elements and measurement levels. The central cooling unit, maintenance cabinet, and electronics unit are arranged in a clear and ergonomic manner. The integrated cooling unit supplies all three cooling circuits. Data streams are controlled in a fail-safe manner via a central bus.

Cool Machine Bed
The CU’s machine bed is precision-cast from stable mineral composite. The machine bed houses the coolant in two large tanks. This means the machine bed is constantly cooled, which in turn results in higher precision and a more reliable grinding process.

Dressing
If you want to precision-grind to the nearest micrometer, you need grinding tools that are exactly right. The dressing unit in the CU is positioned in an easily accessible location next to the machine table. With it you can parallel dress or get wheels into perfect shape using the XING dressing method. Dressing is controlled using the Multigrind® Horizon grinding software.

Positioning Machines in One Row
Since the sides of the CU are completely closed, several CU grinding machines can be neatly positioned in a row, saving space.

Control
Precision and cost-effectiveness begin when programming the grinding program. With our intuitive Multigrind® Horizon grinding software and the Siemens Sinumerik 840D sl continuous path control system, the CU is superbly equipped as far as software is concerned.

Ergonomics and Safety
The double-glazed safety glass and stable enclosures create a safe protective barrier. All operating and maintenance elements are positioned in an ergonomic manner.

 


Machine table


Tool changer


Supply units on the back side

Druckansicht

Technisches Konzept Multigrind® CU

Bauweise
Klein, kompakt und platzsparend sollte sie werden, die neue Schleifmaschine von Haas. Und genauso ist sie geworden. Wir haben uns bei der Multigrind® CU für den klassischen Gantry-Aufbau mit mittigem Antrieb entschieden. Die bei Gantry-Maschinen übliche Achsanordnung haben wir, um Raum zu gewinnen, modifiziert. X-, Y- und Z-Achse wurden nach oben verlegt. Die C-Achse ist von oben nach unten gewandert und bewegt dort auch die A-Achse, mit der Maschinentisch und damit das Werkstück gedreht werden. Die C-Achse bewegt auch das unter dem Maschinentisch liegende Werkzeugmagazin, das zur Bestückung einfach angehoben wird.

Die Konstruktion mit fester Spindel führt zu 50 Prozent weniger Drehbewegungen und damit zu wesentlich mehr Stabilität und Präzision. Die Verfahrwege im Eilgang können so auf 30 m/min. gesteigert werden, störende Corioliskräfte entfallen dank fester Spindel.

Die gesamte Maschine ist so gebaut, dass der Bediener nur von vorne oder von hinten an die Maschine muss. Be- und Entladen sowie die Bestückung des Werkzeugwechslers erfolgt an der Frontseite; gewartet wird ausschließlich von der Rückseite. Die Seitenflächen links und rechts sind komplett geschlossen, so dass mehrere Maschinen in einer Fertigungsstraße aufgestellt werden können.

Bearbeitungsarten
In der CU können Sie Zerspanungswerkzeuge und andere Werkstücke bis zu einer Größe von 300 Millimeter Länge und 180 mm Durchmesser aufs µm genau schleifen.

Schleifspindeln
Als Standard rüsten wir die CU mit einer Haas-Schleifspindel HSK 50 E mit 8.000 1/min Leistung und 12 kW aus. Optional verbauen wir Ihnen auch eine Spindel mit 18.000 1/min. Auch eine Hochgeschwindigkeitsspindel haben wir auf Anfrage im Programm. Alle Haas-Spindeln entwickeln und fertigen wir in Trossingen. Die rotierenden Teile werden feinstgewuchtet und zum Teil hybridgelagert.

Maschinentisch
Jede Menge Platz bietet der sich drehende Maschinentisch der Multigrind® CU mit einer Aufspannfläche von 800 x 290 mm. Die Werkstückaufnahme in der A-Achse und der Maschinentisch bewegen das Werkzeug im Raum, aber an derselben Stelle. Dadurch müssen die Achsen nur minimal nachführen; sie sind somit deutlich genauer.

Werkzeugwechsler
Wer, wie die Hersteller und Nachschärfer von Präzisionswerkzeugen, größten Wert auf Flexibilität legt, braucht einen großzügig dimensionierten, schnellen Werkzeugwechsler. Trotz ihrer geringen Breite von nur 1.600 mm verfügt die CU über ein Werkzeugmagazin mit bis zu 14 Plätzen. Damit lassen sich zum Beispiel 9 Schleifscheiben à 200 mm Durchmesser im Wechsler unterbringen. Den technischen Kunstgriff, das Wechslerrad unter den Maschinentisch zu legen, haben wir zum Patent angemeldet. Die Beladung erfolgt frontseitig von oben durch den Bediener. Der Wechsler wird, wie die ganze Maschine, über unsere Schleifsoftware Multigrind® Horizon programmiert und exakt gesteuert.

Automation
Eine wirtschaftliche Automatisierung zählt heute zu den Hauptanforderungen der Werkzeughersteller. Wir haben dazu die CU mit einer integrierten Automatisierungseinheit ausgestattet. Dazu gehören vier Paletten (259 x 200 mm), die mit einem Schwenkantrieb und einem Greiferarm schnell be- und entladen werden. Dank der 5 NC-Achsen und der beiden „halben“ Achsen verfügt die CU über Freiheitsgrade, die denen eines Roboters nahekommen. Die Automatisierungseinheit der CU braucht allerdings weder extra Platz noch ein extra Investitionsbudget.

Warten und Versorgen
Zur Versorgung, Wartung und Prüfung aller Versorgungselemente und Messstände ist die CU optimal von hinten zugänglich. Zentrale Kühlmitteleinheit, Wartungsschrank und Elektronikeinheit sind übersichtlich und ergonomisch angeordnet. Die integrierte Kühlmitteleinheit versorgt alle drei Kühlkreisläufe. Die Datenströme werden über störungssicher über einen zentralen Bus gesteuert.

Kühles Maschinenbett
Das Maschinenbett der CU ist aus stabilem Mineralguss und präzise gegossen. Im Maschinenbett befindet sich das Kühlmittel mit zwei großen Tanks. Dadurch wird auch das Maschinenbett konstant gekühlt, was wiederum mehr Präzision und Prozesssicherheit mit sich bringt.

Abrichten
Wenn Sie aufs µm genau schleifen wollen, brauchen Sie Schleifwerkzeuge, die aufs Korn genau stimmen. Die Abrichteinheit in der CU befindet sich gut zugänglich neben dem Maschinentisch. Sie können damit parallel abrichten oder Spitzscheiben im Cross-Dressing-Verfahren in Form bringen. Die Steuerung erfolgt über die Schleifsoftware Multigrind® Horizon.

Reihenaufstellung
Da die Seitenflächen der CU komplett geschlossen sind, lassen sich mehrere CU-Schleifmaschinen sauber und platzsparend in einer Reihe aufstellen.

Steuerung
Präzision und Wirtschaftlichkeit beginnt bei der Programmierung der Schleifprogramms. Mit unserer intuitiv zu bedienenden Schleifsoftware Multigrind® Horizon und der Siemens-Bahnsteuerung Sinumerik 840D sl ist die CU softwareseitig bestens ausgestattet.

Ergonomie und Sicherheit
Die Doppelsicherheitsglasscheibe und die stabile Verkleidungen sorgen für eine sichere Abschirmung. Alle Bedienungs- und Wartungselemente sind ergonomisch angeordnet.

 


Maschinentisch


Werkzeugwechsler


Versorgungseinheiten an der Rückseite

Druckansicht